About the Strathewen Bushfire Relief Company

The Strathewen Bushfire Relief Company Ltd (the Company) is the corporate body charged with acting as trustee of the Strathewen Bushfire Relief Trust (the Trust).

The Trust was established in November 2012 and received funding from the Victorian Bushfire Appeal Fund for disbursement through until mid-2022 to support existing and new community groups, both large and small, to undertake activities directed at the continued renewal and development of the Strathewen community, to facilitate community health initiatives, and to assist individual community members with their recovery from the impact of the February 2009 bushfires.

A Board of Directors drawn from unpaid volunteers from the Strathewen community, have assumed responsibility for the careful management and disbursement of the Trust funds to support community strengthening activities. The Company will also procure and manage funds that are not part of the Trust, but which will be used to support community renewal and development over the longer term.

The Company Board of Directors is currently made up of:

David Brown – Chair
Malcolm Hackett – Secretary
Karl Apted
Mary Avola
Kate Fawcett
Phil Jones

Expressions of interest from community members interested in serving on the board are welcome at anytime. Please get in touch.